Thirty-one per cent votes cast in Manipur till 10 am

A voter turnout of 31 per cent was recorded till 10 am in the second and final phase of Manipur Assembly election today.

No untoward incident has been reported in the first three hours of polling, State Nodal Officer (Elections) W Chandrakumar Singh said.

Chief Minister O Ibobi Singh, who is contesting from Thoubal seat, cast his vote at a polling booth of Thoubal constituency at 7.15 am.

Ninety-eight candidates, including rights activist Irom Sharmila, are in the fray in this phase.

Sharmila, who is pitted against the Chief Minister in Thoubal Assembly seat, had cast her vote at a polling booth of Khurai Assembly constituency in the first phase.

Polling which began at 7 am will end at 3 pm in 22 Assembly constituencies spread over the valley district of Thoubal and the hill districts of Ukhrul, Chandel, Tamenglong and Senapati.

The first phase polling to the 60-member Assembly was held on March 4 last.